A Nerdy View of the World

Hello, I'm your friendly neighborhood care-giving, problem solver.

I work for a company that is in the "wellness" space. As part of joining, I did their pre-assessment questionnaire, and it spit out my primary and secondary personality types. Usually, I take these kinds of things and get a different answer every time. I tend to overthink questions and read all sorts of things into them. And, the results usually feel like reading a horoscope - vague and could fit just about anything. But, this assessment said I'm first, a "Problem Solver", and second, "A Caregiver".

Yowsa. Ain't that the truth. If you tell me a problem, my head is going to immediately start trying to fix it. And, I will usually express my attempts to fix things in a caregiving kind of way. All in all, it makes me "too much" for most people. I wish I could be like Elyse Myers and just tell people to "find less", but I kind of have to admit people are right. I can be a lot. (Have you all figured out yet, I mostly write these posts to help me process what's bubbling around in my brain at any given moment?)

I don't even really have to know you to care about your problems. Tiramasu's quest for a lob feels like something I should help with, for example. I swear to god, I wanted to reach out and say, "hey, I'm kinda close to New York. If you need anything when you're here..." But, even I know that sorta gives off creepy axe murderer vibes. So, for once, I resisted the urge to try to fix everything and take care of everybody.

On the bright side, being a problem solver means I'm well suited to being a software developer. And, because I like to take care of people, I really care about UX. This makes me ideal for coding internal tools, where I get to interact with the end users and hear their needs and frustrations. And, because my coworkers know the assessment, I can just shrug and say, "You know me. I'm a care-giving, problem solver".