A Nerdy View of the World

We Seem to Have Forgotten Open Source Software is a Gift

My take on free and open source software is that it should not be the job of a single person or group to maintain professional level, free software. With open source software, somebody made something for their own use, and they shared their work out of kindness. If I don’t like something about the gift they gave me, it’s on me to change it for my needs - and then ideally share my changes with others.

If I am unable to change the code myself, I have the option to ask nicely for somebody to help me. But, if it’s a big change, or a change that not many others would want, I can always hire somebody to do the work. If I can’t do that, I might have to do without.

Let’s say your neighbor is out mowing their front lawn, and they kindly do yours at the same time. There’s no way you would demand they cut the grass in your back yard too. You’d be more likely to make sure you got out earlier next week to do your lawn and your neighbor’s as well.

Somewhere along the line, we started to expect open source software to be commercial grade free software for non-developers. It’s sad that what should be seen as a gift is now seen as an entitlement.